OS Browser 

Men & Magic

Magic & Treasure

Underworld and Wilderness Adventures

Swords & Spells

Gary Gygax and Dave Arnson created the Dungeons & Dragons game as an evolution of their original Chainmail miniatures rules. As they played, they needed to determine the impact of heroes on each side. Eventually they focused only on the heroes and thus, D&D was born.

Races: Dwarf, Elf, Halfling, Human
Classes: Fighting Man, Magic-User, Cleric
Alignments: Law, Neutrality, Chaos
Level Range: 1-16 with the maximum depending on class.

Men & Magic: Introduces the player to the basic rules for playing dwarves, elves, halflings and humans. You could only play a human fighting man or cleric up to level 10. Human magic-users could progress up to level 16. Dwarves could only be fighting men and reach no higher than level 6. Similarly, halflings could onle be fighting men and progress no further than 4th level. However, elves could choose either the fighting man or magic-user classes and could readily switch between the two classes from adventure to adventure. The maximum level for an elf is fighting man 4, magic-user 8. In addition to character creation rules, this book also presented equipment, spell and basic combat rules.

Races Classes Sub-Classes
Dwarf Cleric
Elf Fighting Man
Halfling Magic-User

The Underworld & Wilderness Adventures: This book coveres dungeon and wilderness design and encounter tables, stronghold construction, NPC specialists, movement rules and naval combat.

Monsters & Treasure: This book coveres exactly what the title says: monsters and magical treasure.

Swords & Spells: Provides large-scale miniatures combat rules on either a 1:10 or 1:1 scale.

Greyhawk: This was more a rules supplement than a campaign setting. It added the thief and paladin character classes. It revised the other races as well, allowing dwarves to progress to 7th level (8th if they had an 18 strength). Elves can now advance simultaneously as a fighting man/magic-user. Elves of exceptional strength could progress up to level 5 (for a 17) or 6 (for an 18) in the fighting man class. Elves with an 18 intelligence could advance up to a 9th level magic-user. They can also progress as a fighter/magic-user/cleric or fighter/magic-user/thief. Each has a maximum level of cleric 6 and thief 14. Halflings can not select to be either a fighter or thief with no racial level limit. The half-elf is introduced and could advance as a fighter/magic-user up to 6th level (7th or 8th level for a 17 or 18 strength or intelligence) in each class simultaneously. The exceptional strength rule used in AD&D 1st and 2nd edition is introduced in this book. Level limits are also expanded, allowing a magic-user to advanct to 22nd level, clerics to 20th and thieves to 14th. An alternate combat system is introduced as well as new spells, monsters and magic items.

Races Classes Sub-Classes
Dwarf Cleric Druid
Elf Fighting Man Paladin
Half-Elf Magic-User
Hobbit Thief

Blackmoor: As with Greyhawk, this book is less a setting than a rules supplement. It introduces the monk and assassin sub-classes for the cleric and thief respectively. It also introduces the concept of hit locations and weapon lengths. New monsters are added as well as the first blackmoor adventure: The Temple of the Frog, which has been republished in numerous occasions.

Races Classes Sub-Classes

Eldritch Wizardry: This supplement introduces the concepts of the druid and psionic combat into the game. It also details additional treasures and monsters such as artifacts and demons.

Gods, Demi-Gods & Heroes: This is the first compendium of deities to the game as well as the artifacts associated with them.



Eldritch Wizardry

Gods, Demi-Gods & Heroes