OS Browser 

Players Handbook

Dungeon Masters Guide

Monster Manual

Intended to be the tournament rules for D&D, AD&D consolidated all the rules from five of first edition D&D's rules into three hardbound rulebooks. It relegated the D&D 2nd edition boxed set to the status of an introductory set of rules covering only the first three levels of the AD&D system.

Races: Dwarf, Elf, Gnome, Half-Elf, Half-Orc, Halfling, Human
Classes: Assassin, Cleric, Druid, Fighter, Illusionist, Magic-User, Monk, Paladin, Ranger, Thief
Alignments: Lawful Good, Lawful Neutral, Lawful Evil, Neutral Good, True Neutral, Neutral Evil, Chaotic Good, Chaotic Neutral, Chaotic Evil
Level Range: 1-29 with the maximum depending on class.

D&D Boxed Set: The D&D game was relegated to merely serve as a simplified selection of rules to teach new players the basics of the AD&D game. In only covered advancement from levels 1 to 3.

Races Classes / Sub-Classes
Dwarf Cleric
Elf Fighting Man
Halfling Magic-User

Players Handbook: Covers all the rules for character creation, equipment, henchmen, spells, movement and combat. This book also introduces the new races of the gnome and half-orc as well as several new classes such as the druid and illusionist. It is also the first occurrence of the two-axis alignment system.

Races Classes / Sub-Classes
Dwarf Assassin
Elf Cleric
Gnome Druid
Half-Elf Fighter
Half-Orc Illusionist
Halfling Magic-User
Human Monk

Dungeon Masters Guide: The DMG covered optional and expanded rules for character creation, aging, disease, lycanthropy, money, armor, hirelings, morale, time, spells, combat, experience, treasure, magical research and the adventuring environment, including intoxication rules and the random harlot table.

Monster Manual: This book compiled and expanded the now extensive list of monsters from the Monsters & Treasures, Greyhawk and Blackmoor books.

Fiend Folio: This book provided additional monsters for the heroes to interact with.

Greyhawk: This was the first actual setting to provide an actual world for characters to live in.

Basic Set (Level 1-3)

Fiend Folio